• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

vacation benefits

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

KMHA2005

What is the name of your state? Oregon

I work for a large non-profit HMO. I was hired on 7-1995 into an on-call, non-union, hourly position. I have been continuously employed since 7-1995. I have held many positions (both with and without a benefited status) during the last 10 years. I just completed my Doctor of Pharmacy degree and I am now a licensed Pharmacist. I am a member of the Pharmacists Guild.

I just received the benefit package from my employer which states that the amount of vacation time you receive is based on your years of "continuous employment" ... for me it would be 10 yrs and 4 weeks of vacation. I also have read the Guild contract which states that vacation is based on continuous employment. In addition the Guild states "Employees hired prior to September 1, 1995 - seniority shall be defined as the first date of hire on a total organization basis, regardless of classification or bargaining unit, provided there has been no loss of seniority.."

The Guild and my employer are now telling me that I am not entitled to 4 weeks vacation. Despite what the contract and their forms say (which they claim were supposed to be updated in 2002) vacation is decided by adding up only the time that an employee has been in a benefited status...

Do I have a case here?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
A case for what? They're not required by law to give you any vacation at all.

Beth3