• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Vacation Leave for exempt employees

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

flippette

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? California

I am a manager of a division of 20 employees and have worked for my company for over 20 years. I have a very large amount of vacation time. My son plays baseball, has 3 games a week and games start at 3:30 pm. The season lasts 10 weeks. I would like to take vacation time on game days and leave at 3:00 pm. I work for a wonderful manager who has never questioned my leaves and has no problem with my taking time to attend my son's games. It is I who would like to take this as vacation, so I don't have to worry about the example I am setting for the employees in my division.

I have had several other requests from people that work for me that fall in the same category. (e.g., they'd like to take every Friday afternoon off for the entire summer, etc.) I don't have a problem with them taking the time off and think they should be allowed to take vacation to do this. Our HR dept. has advised us not to do this as it is illegal. I then tell them to take it off anyway and the employees don't because it makes them feel like "slackers".

Is there any way around this CA state law that disallows me to use my vacation in the way I'd like to use it?

Beth3

Either you're misunderstanding what HR is saying or HR is confused.

An employer is perfectly free to grant vacation in increments as small as they wish and for whatever times/days they wish to grant it. It's entirely up to the employer. As long as paid vacation time is available, there are no problems.