• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Validity of Non-compete

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

PTandrew

Hi all,

I am looking at the enforceability of a non-compete agreement I signed as an independent contractor physical therapist in Arizona. I work as an independent contractor for a company that contracts PT services in to country clubs for their members. I have found that their business model actually had me violating federal law in some cases and want to get out of the contract to distance myself from the situation but would like the ability to continue seeing clients in the clubs as they were the basis of my business model moving forward. The contract specifically states that the "Therapist agrees not to solicit clients of the Agency within the state" for one year after termination of agreement. It additionally states that I cannot provide PT services to country clubs or sport specific clubs within 5 miles of all locations I provided services for behalf of the agency.

Thanks in advance.

quincy

Hi all,