• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Verbal agreement contract

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Northhvac

I'm a licensed California HVAC contractor with 35 years in the trade.
I'm presently 99% completed on a job that was basically a time and materials project.
A verbal quote I gave the customer was for a wall unit that are very easy to install.
She decided on a more expensive system which was quite a bit more.
Now that I'm almost done she wants to hire another contractor to finish the job and not pay the balance owed for a system that only needs 8 hours labor too start up and get it running.
Is there a law that mandates the customer to allow me to complete my work? Everything is up too code and she is trying to get away with not paying me being we didn't have a written contract.
Thanks

quincy

I'm a licensed California HVAC contractor with 35 years in the trade.
I'm presently 99% completed on a job that was basically a time and materials project.
A verbal quote I gave the customer was for a wall unit that are very easy to install.
She decided on a more expensive system which was quite a bit more.
Now that I'm almost done she wants to hire another contractor to finish the job and not pay the balance owed for a system that only needs 8 hours labor too start up and get it running.
Is there a law that mandates the customer to allow me to complete my work? Everything is up too code and she is trying to get away with not paying me being we didn't have a written contract.
Thanks
There is no law that prevents someone from firing a worker before a job is completed.

You are entitled to be paid for the work you have completed and material costs.