• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Veterans are dying as a consequence of local misappropriation of government funds intended to house the homeless

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

NNNN

California
I am a biologist and former investor who became homeless as a consequence of a particularly damaging and vindictive separation in which everything I had was lost except my dog which was abducted but escaped and returned to me. I was wealthy and experienced great fear and trepidation over the loss of my home and the consequences that would follow. I have no family and the damage of the relationship I was in had deeply damaged my friendships and destroyed my business. I knew I was to be homeless and for two years, I was. I would be lying if I told you it was not difficult, but there is, in the darkest days, a balance and in this case this was found in all that I have learned and in the role I had out there. Because I have an MD (I never worked as a physician, I worked instead in investments), I quickly became the go-to guy in situations that most certainly have ended in death had no one been there to perform the most simple of acts that, in moments of crisis when everything in a 90 second window counts, come too late or not at all because our own doubts and hesitations. On many occasions, words were the only buffer between life and death. I tell you this so that you will better understand the situation that my question concerns and that my words hopefully be believed because were I the man I was 6 years ago, I would have taken far too lightly what I about to relate and the reason for that would have been found in the stereotypes and assu