• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Violation of court order

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

whiggs

I live in the state of Georgia. I am currently under court order not to directly or indirectly contact the company Github. Easy enough I figured. I am an automation engineer for a living and write code as a result. Recently, I uploaded several scripts I had written to gitlab which use the Github api which I had written prior to this court court order. Also, in the readme for this particular repo, I decried the things that Github had done to me that have resulted in my current predicament to those who would see the repo. The prosecutor in this case is now trying to claim that this was a violation of court order to have no communication with the company, which I strongly refute. The way the prosecutor is wording it, the fact that I uploaded scripts which use Github's api is a form a communication and the decrying of Github's behavior is also a violation. The first reason is stupid if they knew what they were talking about, and the second essentially means that I can't even leave a bad review or bbb complaint without violating the order, which I also believe is bull crap. I wanted to see any of you think that this would be a violation of the court order.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney