• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Webmaster Liability for Defamation?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Ananisapta

I'm a volunteer webmaster for my neighborhood association in North Carolina. We're getting ready to start a private forum for our members to debate issues of common concern, such as the new foundation documents that we'll be voting on in January. Some of these discussions have become acrimonious already due to personality pathology in certain members, one of whom is clearly litigious. I wonder if my assets or those of our Association, Board, or Officers might be at risk if somebody launches a personal attack in one of our forum sections. The Board has liability insurance for its Members and Officers. I'm not currently on the Board, but I have an "umbrella" policy in conjunction with my homeowners and auto policies, all from Amica.

I plan to put up the usual admonitions to act nice along with encouragements to report abusive behavior which may result in the offensive content and member being summarily removed, with a route of appeal to the Board. Am I missing something? Is there preferred language anybody can recommend?

quincy