• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What are my options now?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Michael09

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Michigan.

Hi: I have been working for an automobile company for more than 11+ years as a direct employee and 18+ years including time as consultant. As my mother is ill and needed support, I have had to go on FMLA. Now, I am told that FMLA is valid only for 3 months and that I have to report to work by mid October or my employment will be terminated. My mother is still not well and doctors think, it will atleast 3 more months before she will be better.

Now I am at a loss:
1. Since I have already started FMLA - would I be able to continue the same for longer period? Are there any exceptions in the law that I can use?
2. Are there any other alternatives to extend the leave and still hold to the job?

Any replies will be appreciated vey much.

Thanks,
Michael

mlane58

Now I am at a loss:
1. Since I have already started FMLA - would I be able to continue the same for longer period? Are there any exceptions in the law that I can use?
No FMLA is for only 480 hours per year and there isn't another federal or state law that I am aware of that would let you extend that leave.

2. Are there any other alternatives to extend the leave and still hold to the job?
No

pattytx

FMLA is 12 weeks per year. Period. The employer may provide an additional personal LOA, but that would not protect your job; only FMLA does that.

Best wishes for your mom.

Michael09

Thanks for your reply.

FMLA is 12 weeks per year. Period. The employer may provide an additional personal LOA, but that would not protect your job; only FMLA does that.