• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

@ what point should one consider CHPT 7?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state? CA

In advance... thanks for any input. NEWBIE here.
:confused:
I've been out of a job... going on two years now.
I have six (unsecured) debts delinquent. Have been contacted by three CA's, have sent reg.letters off & have heard nothing more from them. This week another CA (for Citibank) called (informing me it was re: "our litigation") & today I received a (disguised) collection letter w/ a law office "heading" on it. Note: most of these debts are 4-5 mos. delinquent, I have no assets and no steady job/paycheck (though I am seeking work).

My question is: Should I wait for it to get worse? To be served legal papers from a court/atty office or maybe even wait until "Judgements" are made against me before FINALLY filing for Chapter 7? OR Should I do it now?

I fear going through a Bankruptcy as I've always made good on all debts & had excellent credit........... But as we all know... stuff happens.

Last edited:

bigun

Whatever you decide, remember that on 10/17 the bk code will change and a chapter 7 will be a far more difficult process. Also, I would not let thm get a judgment. That's just more time and legal fees post bk discharge to get it vacated.

CA

Thx Bigun.

Feel I'd like to put off filing CHPT 7 as late as possible, maybe that's wishful thinking (as I look for regular work).
Also, I have heard that sometimes it's better to file BK than to let your credit suffer any longer (as that will reflect as bad as BK). True?.

I will seek counsel.