• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What Tax Field Do I Fall Into?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

GabrielM

Hello, my name is Gabriel.

I'm in an interesting situation. I've created a website that will be earning money from affiliate links. Basically, if someone clicks my link and buys something from my partner, I receive a commission. This will become how I make my living.

How do taxes work with this kind of thing? What am I classified as? What paperwork do I have to go through? Can I write off business costs? Is there anything else I should know?

Thank you in advance :)

adjusterjack

I'm in an interesting situation. I've created a website that will be earning money from affiliate links. Basically, if someone clicks my link and buys something from my partner, I receive a commission. This will become how I make my living.

How do taxes work with this kind of thing? What am I classified as? What paperwork do I have to go through? Can I write off business costs? Is there anything else I should know?
Texas doesn't have an income tax. For federal taxes you are a "sole proprietor." You report your income and expenses on Schedule C. You'll also have to pay Self-Employment taxes on Schedule SE (that's your contribution to social security retirement). You may also have to pay Quarterly Estimated Tax - Form 1040-ES.

It's not too complicated. The IRS website has publications, forms, and instructions. I suggest you study all the 2019 forms and publications. Even if you don't make any money between now and the end of the year your start-up costs may be deductible for 2019.

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p583.pdf

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p587.pdf