• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Whistle blowing information request

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

statew60120

My employer is committing an illegal act of copying product that is manufactured by others and they are ignoring the patents that protect the individual product rights. As an engineer, I would hate for someone to steal my design and my hard work with research and development. I am leaving the company in 2 weeks I cannot accept the deception and the culture however I am struggling if I should say something to the competitors or the authorities. I would like to know could they sue me for blowing the whistle on their illegal activities? Our headquarters is located in Illinois.

They are willfully committing patent violation by copying competitor products. They are asking me as one of the engineers in the team to look the other way. Our vice president of engineering is also concern of the patent violation. Its been brought to the attention of the in-house counsel and he pretty much said we ignore it until someone complains.

eerelations

Did you sign a confidentiality agreement during your time at the company? If yes, then telling the company's competitors about this could be seen as violating the agreement.

If you haven't signed one, and you are asked to sign one before you leave, and you want to tell the company's competitors about this product, then refuse to sign it. But be aware that this refusal will cause you to be walked out the door immediately, and you won't be paid for the remainder of your notice period.