• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

workplace harassment??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

scatcatttttt

What is the name of your state? Minnesota

This is my first time posting and I need some advise. My fiance has worked for a company for the past year and a half.

She had a few complaints about how the company was doing things (ie. not following procedures, SOP's). She talked to the company manager, and he said he would take care of it. After a few weeks nothing was taken care of, so she went to the HR lady and explained the situation. The HR lady said she would take care of it. Once again nothing was done. She then went to the CEO of the company and complained of her problem. (The CEO has an open door policy) The CEO said there was nothing he could do and that she had to talk to the HR lady. Today my fiance got a call from the company manager saying that she is being written up and facing suspension for insubordination for going over his head and talking to the CEO. After reading in the employee handbook, she did everything per company policy.
Ever since she has brought this problem up to her manager, she has been treated differently....she doesnt even want to go to work for fear she will get called into someones office and get chewed out for something.

Can an employer do this?? How can an employer write you up for insubordination for talking to a CEO?

BelizeBreeze

scatcatttttt said:
What is the name of your state? Minnesota

This is my first time posting and I need some advise. My fiance has worked for a company for the past year and a half.