• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is It Illegal For A Company To Not Pay Earned Vacation Pay Once It Has Changed Owner?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

KPSC25

I Live and work In Indiana, Recently the company I have been working for, for the past 4 years was given back to the original owners. I had worked for the original owners for two years, in that time I had earned two full weeks (80 hours) of vacation pay. When the new owner took over we were told that we had to sale back our vacation pay. So in other words we would still get the pay we had earned for vacation time but we could not take the time off with pay. That was fine with all the employees as we still received the money for the vacation time we earned. Fast forward two and a half years later the company that had bought us two years ago didnt pay the loans and fees so we were given back to the original company, basically the first owners foreclosed on the new owners for non payment. Now we have been taken over by the first owners.Our manager was told to allow all of us to "sale" our vacation time that we had earned and to add it to our paychecks that were suppose to be paid by the owners who lost us. So the manager had us all fill out paper work saying we would sale our vacation time and get the money instead of the time with pay. On the day we were suppose to be paid after the original owners took over (but still in the same pay period of the past owners) our paychecks were delayed and we were suppose to be paid on Friday and were being told that we may not be paid until 1:00pm ...when they still hadnt come they said 5:00pm..when they still hadnt come they said no later then 6:30pm...they ended up gettin