• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Manager asked me to start clocking out

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dunneroo

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Illinois

My situation is that I am a physical therapist and see patients throughout the day. This time of year business gets slow with deductibles resetting and my manager recently asked me to start clocking out if I have large gaps between patients. I am a hourly employee and it states in my offer letter that I am scheduled for 40 hours a week. My manager hasn't stated that I must remain on the premises, but it's extremely hard to leave if I only have a hour before the next patient arrives. Is this legal for them to ask of me? Thanks for any advice.

LdiJ

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Illinois

My situation is that I am a physical therapist and see patients throughout the day. This time of year business gets slow with deductibles resetting and my manager recently asked me to start clocking out if I have large gaps between patients. I am a hourly employee and it states in my offer letter that I am scheduled for 40 hours a week. My manager hasn't stated that I must remain on the premises, but it's extremely hard to leave if I only have a hour before the next patient arrives. Is this legal for them to ask of me? Thanks for any advice.
Someone else who is more knowledgeable about employment law will come along, however its certainly lacking professionalism to ask a full time employee to go part time by requiring them to clock out between patients.

You might want to consider moving on to a more professional office.

PayrollHRGuy