• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unemployment Fraud (Yet To Be Caught)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

thecoolcalm

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
California

Hi all, this is my first time ever posting on a forum and for good reason. I’ve seen the responder “commentator” who is well versed in these situations and hope she can give some ideas.

So, I have a friend who committed UI Fraud. The question that I pose for my friend is, should he just call the UI investigation unit ahead of time to admit and set up a payment plan? Should he just wait and deal with it when it comes? Is there a way to reduce the odds of criminal prosecution? How on earth has the cross match not picked his first over-payment? Is there a potential that it could fall through the cracks (not that it matters, as he is adamant about paying it back and calling if it mitigates prosecution). He is guilt ridden now that he understands the extent of his transgression and looks to rectify it. He has no criminal background and works a full time job and doesn’t want to lose the career he has worked for due to his youthful greed. Please someone just ease his mind.

Commentator this one is definitely for you. But I would love to get as much advice as possible for my friend. Thanks in advance everyone.

Last edited:

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl