• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

stepparent adoption, cross state lines

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

Lovely

(Wisconsin)

Hello, newbie here. My children, their father and I reside in Wisconsin. We were never married and we share joint custody (I have primary placement). I am engaged to be married in October. The children's father has agreed to allow my fiance to adopt the children. My question is this: We would like to relocate to Texas as soon as possible. My fiance lives there. We are willing to legally marry before the actual ceremony to allow the adoption to take place. Now, how does an inter-state step parent adoption work? Will the children's father appear in court in WI and the adoption in TX? Or will both hearings take place in WI? Do we relocate and wait until we're married (october) and then come BACK to WI for the process?Has anyone had a similar situation? TIA.

Ohiogal

Queen Bee
Lovely said:
(Wisconsin)