• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

DFACS is Trying To Putting my kid up for adoption

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

lisalopes2nd

What is the name of your state? Georgia

My daughter was taken away from me due to drugs and incarceration since the day she was born Aug 15th 2007. Since my release I have been going to visitation and testing negative for every drug test. My situation is that I want my daughter with my parents. I've been requesting this for the past 4 months to no avail. My parents live in Brooklyn NY. My DFACS worker claims that she sent out the ICP packet so this may go through. It's been 4 months. I know that these things take a while, but I feel as though my DFACS worker is delaying this procedure. Why? Because the foster parents have had my daughter since she was born and the want to wait until my parental rights are terminated so they can adopt her. My DFACS won't return my parents calls, no one is helping and time is running. I can not afford an attorney. What should I do? Any advice will be helpful

lisalopes2nd

The Child's Father is actually a Guardian Le (I don't know the exact name) for Cobb County. I have contacted him about this issue and he is trying to hide it. He is a well respected attorney and is in the background coaching my parents. He's not denying her at all, he just isn't stepping up to the plate. I have asked him to establish paternity(he can pay for it) and being that he doesn't want to take care of her to just give my parents guardship. His response is that it would take too long and by that time my rights will be taken away. I choose not to believe that.