• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I be sued for "lost revenue"?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cfitz2113

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Potential defendant is in Tennessee, potential plaintiff is in New York

I am a web designer operating a business set up as a sole proprietorship. I undertook a project for someone in NY to develop a complex website. He paid a retainer/initial deposit and signed a contract specifying 3 additional payment milestones for the project.

I delivered about 40-45% of the work (his total payments were about 35% of the contracted price), and, due to some unfortunate circumstances, had to terminate the project.

This was about 6-8 weeks ago.

About a week ago, I got an email from him demanding a refund of the initial deposit/retainer. He did not demand a refund of the second payment milestone. (He did not pay anything beyond the 2nd milestone). His logic was that a "retainer" is fully refundable if a project is not 100% completed. My position is that the retainer assured that I would receive "at least" that much for my work, even if he defaulted on any of the other payment milestones.

I refused to give a refund for the retainer, citing the fact that he had accepted and paid for about 40% of the total work, and had actually paid for less than that.

Now he is threatening to sue me for "lost revenue" of 3 months, which is the figure he has arrived at as how long me having to end the project without completing it has set him back on his timeline.