• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Disclosure of Confidential Information

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

moethelep

What is the name of your state? Colorado.

I have been employed by my current employer for about 4 months. I have been seeking a better opportunity for about 2 months. I went on my most recent interview a few weeks ago.
I very clearly indicated on that application that I did not wish for them to contact my current employer; they did. Not only that but evidently there were some negative things said about things that I had supposedly said about my company. This information has-- in effect-- gotten me fired. The individual who informed my employer needs to be held accountable. How can I make that happen?

Thanks,
Ryan

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
You can't. All you can do is report the individual to their boss, whoever that might be. What happens after that is out of your hands.

It is very, very rare that a current employer is contacted when the applicant has requested that they not be, but it does happen and it is not illegal. It's definitely not best practice but no laws were violated. That being the case, his manager is not obligated to take any action at all. There's nothing you can do to force it to happen.

moethelep

Some of the things that were said were not true though. This slander damaged my reputation with my company to the point of me getting fired.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
When you actually are fired, come back and see us again. Until then, you have no damages that would be recognized by a court based on what you have posted.

moethelep

such as???????