• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Psychotic Husband

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

N

nsayn

I have no say in this matter.

Last edited by a moderator:

mistoffolees

NEW York

My mother's husband is extremely mentally and emotionally abusive, but not physically. I've been telling her for 10+ years to get rid of him, but they would always "reconcile".

The control and mental abuse has reached an all time high and gets crazier by the minute. (speaking things like "she is controlled by satan" and a "evil rotten sinner" )

He controls all of the money and my mother has no savings. He has control of the only car. He refuses to give my sister who is a minor lunch money for school or support her finacially. He also refuses to support my mother finacially.

Right now there is no food, toilet paper, paper towels, heat in the house.

My mother is not allowed to withdraw money from their joint account as he says it is all his.

For weeks he starts at 6am in the morning complaining that she owes him money.

She cannot afford a lawyer of any kind. everyone walks on egg shells in the house.

How do we get rid of him? What do we do?

If your mother is in danger or seriously abused (which would include not having any food), SHE needs to take action. There are social service agencies that can help her. Meanwhile, she needs to get a job to support herself.

If your sister is in danger or seriously abused, you can contact social services to report neglect.

However, what you see as a psychotic husband could be interpreted differently. Seems to me that the wife is at fault nearly as much. She's letting herself and her daughter starve and is unwilling to do a thing about it?