• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Rehearsing the witness

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

brekehan

I could be wrong, but I read this to mean the OP shopped for the cheapest attorney he could find that would take the case on a flat fee and now expects a million dollar defense.

DC
No. I simply expect some kind of defense. I do not expect the http://www.southparkstudios.com/clips/103454/the-chewbacca-defense
I certainly do not expect my lawyer to defend me with nothing more than the police report to go on.

If I am a car mechanic, how can I tell you that I am going to fix your car without ever seeing it. Maybe your car doesn't even have an engine in it. The idea is rediculous.

It is illegal to advise a person to lie on the stand or to otherwise suborn perjury. It is not illegal to get your story straight or to prepare a witness. HOWEVER, the other side will ask if you talked about your attorney regarding your testimony. What will a jury think about that evidence. Also, the attorney-client privilege would not apply to the conversations regarding this and questions could be asked about the substance of the communication. Depending on what the form and substance was, it could require your attorney to remove himself from the case as *HE* could now be a witness.