• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

87 in a 55 zone since my dog was dying....

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

CynPetrauskas

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law): Louisiana

I am a veterinary student and I went in for my morning rotation. Around 9:30 AM I was paged that I had a phone call. It was my room-mate who woke up to find my beloved dog unresponsive. I rushed out of the clinic as fast as I could. I admit I was wrong to do 87 in a 55 zone, and I know I am guilty for that. The officer was crude and didn't seem to care and took his time getting the paperwork done. I was polite but very upset because of my situation. By the time I got home my dog had expired. I know this is not really an excuse for speeding... but my emotions got the best of me.

How should I handle this? Will the judge take my situation into consideration? :confused: Any help is appreciated...

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney

I am a veterinary student and I went in for my morning rotation. Around 9:30 AM I was paged that I had a phone call. It was my room-mate who woke up to find my beloved dog unresponsive. I rushed out of the clinic as fast as I could. I admit I was wrong to do 87 in a 55 zone, and I know I am guilty for that. The officer was crude and didn't seem to care and took his time getting the paperwork done. I was polite but very upset because of my situation. By the time I got home my dog had expired. I know this is not really an excuse for speeding... but my emotions got the best of me.

How should I handle this? Will the judge take my situation into consideration? :confused: Any help is appreciated...