• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

California Tax On Sale of Second Home - Non Resident

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jnindel

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida and California

I am a full-time resident of Florida. For many years I have owned a condo in Palm Springs, California. I used the condo as a vacation home that I would visit three or four times a year for a week each time.

I am selling this condo in two weeks, for a profit. The settlement company made me complete and file California Form 593, "Real Estate Withholding Tax Statement". I reported a tax withholding of $6500 on line 5 of California form 593.

Am I required to file a California Income Tax return in 2017 even though I am a resident of Florida and did not earn any income in California, other than the profit on the sale of the condo? If so, what form do I file? And, will I be required to pay California income tax on my total income (the total income reported on my federal 1040)? Thanks.

LdiJ

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida and California

I am a full-time resident of Florida. For many years I have owned a condo in Palm Springs, California. I used the condo as a vacation home that I would visit three or four times a year for a week each time.

I am selling this condo in two weeks, for a profit. The settlement company made me complete and file California Form 593, "Real Estate Withholding Tax Statement". I reported a tax withholding of $6500 on line 5 of California form 593.