• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

2 DUI's in MI - living in OH?????

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

Pawlak

I received my first DUI in Michigan while living in MI. This was roughly 5 years ago. I received my 2nd DUI in MI in Oct of 2001, however I was a resident of Ohio. I've met all the requirements that the MI court imposed on me with the exception of the 1 yr suspenion. Does anyone know how this affects me in Ohio or does anyone know of a link to the Ohio Criminal Code to access this info?

R

reconmp

Well, I'm not sure how it will effect you, but here's a clue.

QUIT DRINKING YOU IDIOT BEFORE YOU KILL SOMEONE.

F

FKNA

Number of offenses within a 5 year time span will get you; 1st offense 3 days - 6 months, 2nd offense 10 days - 6 months, 3rd offense 30 days - 1 year, 4th offense 60 days to 6 months. That is the possible jail time. The MANDATORY jail time would be 1st - 3days, 2nd - 10 days, 3rd 30 days, 4th 60 days. And yes, they would consider the dwi's that you have gotten out of state.

R

reconmp

I say let's give him the maximum amount of time, this way he has plenty of time to remember that it is dangerous to drink and drive. And also, a criminal offense. So, what would you recommend for a person who has done this knowing it is wrong, not once, but again.

Slam him hard, slam him long, and let the guys in jail slam him as well. Maybe that will drive the message home.

Rochelle

Careful Recon, there are those who will think you're siding with justice.;)

Anyone can make one mistake, but to keep making that same one is just inexcusable.

F

FKNA