• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Asked to sign untrue statement upon resignation from job

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jay968

What is the name of your state?California

I started training for employment with a company at end of April 2021 but resigned for various reasons in mid May.

A few days ago I received a form titled "Notice to Employee as to Change in Relationship." in which they are asking me to sign 2 sections and return the form to them:

1 - VOLUNTARY separation with a date in May of 2021. "Personal reasons" box was checked for me. (I have no problem signing off on this).
2 - INVOLUNTARY separation with a date in December of 2020. "Violation of company policy" box was checked for me. (I have a big problem signing off on this part as it is not true). I never worked for them prior to April 2021, and obviously I was never terminated by them for violations or otherwise.

I never worked for this company in December of 2020, nor ANY time prior. This is pure crap!
I responded to the HR person by stating that I would not sign such a letter as it contains untrue statements and I asked for an explanation.

The response was "there is a lot of activity with unemployment such as fraud. I can only support the information of the timeline you worked for XXXX."

I basically responded to this by saying "HUH?" and once again asked for an explanation and stating that I never even worked for the company prior to April of 2021.

Any suggestions on where to go with this? My fear is that whether I sign this or not, the part about having been terminated just may come back to haunt me one day. Are my fears justified?

Thanks

quincy

What is the name of your state?California