• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Assault and Battery by landlord

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Popeye2000

What is the name of your state? Florida

I am a college student at UF, and unfortunately I cannot use the student legal services since this involves another UF student, and unfortunately being a student I cannot afford an attorney, so any advice would be helpful.

My landlord, is also a tenant in the home. On several occasions he has verbally assaulted both myself and the other sublessor living here, and the few occasions we have friends over he yells at and threatens them for various things. On one occasion he shoved me when I asked him to stop yelling and threatening my friends (I took no retalitory action). None of these actions were ever provoked, atleast in the sense of the ordinary reasonable person.

On top of all of this, he now refuses to sleep in his room so he now sleeps out on the couch in the common area (for over the last month). As such he has tried to regulate use of the common area such that noone can make any noise in the common area pretty much whenever he is in there (except when HE wants to watch TV or a movie, then its so loud that it disrupts the rest of us in our rooms), and has regulated the use of the television in the common area only when it benefits him. When we tell him he is being unreasonable, he tells us its his TV (or whatever else he is trying to regulate i.e. tables, grill, couch, HOUSE..etc.). There is no mention of the conduct in the common areas in the lease, nor does it say that he shall furnish the house.