• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can employer tell me who I can/cannot socialize with?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

med88

What is the name of your state? Iowa

I am working on a project for the state. I am a contractor - there are 9 contractors working on the project. I have developed a friendship with a couple of the other contractors and my boss and another "senior" member of my company told me to "cool it with the socializing with "X" and "Y". Can they legally do this?

Thanks,
Mary

med88

I thought I gave you the facts.... I have developed a friendship with a couple of the other contractors. We have gone out after work a couple of times. At lunch, my supervisor and this other person told me to "cool it with the socializing"... what other facts do you need? All we do is go out on Friday night and unwind after a grueling week at work. And now I am afraid to even say "HI" to these people... and they are my friends!

S

seniorjudge

med88 said:
I thought I gave you the facts.... I have developed a friendship with a couple of the other contractors. We have gone out after work a couple of times. At lunch, my supervisor and this other person told me to "cool it with the socializing"... what other facts do you need? All we do is go out on Friday night and unwind after a grueling week at work. And now I am afraid to even say "HI" to these people... and they are my friends!
Ask your supervisor why he is saying this.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Agree with SJ. I can think of reasons why this would be appropriate and reasons why it would be inappropriate.