• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employer Asking Me to Pay Taxes Retroactively?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Moralessk8

California
I was getting paid under the table for two months (unbeknownst to me - I was told I was a 1099 contractor). My employer decided to do the right thing and retroactively report those payments to the IRS properly. I never withheld any portion of my pay for tax purposes. After not working for this employer for over a year, he’s asking me to reimburse him for the taxes withheld that he decided to pay (which should have been withheld from my check in the first place). Am I liable to pay him if I never agreed to such transaction?

adjusterjack

You were illegally working "under the table." Just as complicit as your employer. Ignorance of the law is no excuse.

Pay him back.

Then file tax returns for that income. Who knows, you may get part or all of that money back.

quincy

California
I was getting paid under the table for two months (unbeknownst to me - I was told I was a 1099 contractor). My employer decided to do the right thing and retroactively report those payments to the IRS properly. I never withheld any portion of my pay for tax purposes. After not working for this employer for over a year, he’s asking me to reimburse him for the taxes withheld that he decided to pay (which should have been withheld from my check in the first place). Am I liable to pay him if I never agreed to such transaction?
You only worked for this employer for two months? Did you file a return that included the income you earned from this employer?

zddoodah