• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How does an evictin work?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

LisaAnnS

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Chicago, IL

I am new to this. I have never had to evict anyone in the 12 years I have been renting apartments, so any advice would be great.

I have given tenant 5 day notice to pay, and she has not paid. Last week I went to the Courts and filed for the eviction. My court date is scheduled in two weeks. Sheriff will hopefully be able to serve the papers to the tenant. I have filed a "Complaint(Joint action) forcible detainer-Rent/Damage Claims"

My questions:

If the tenant is not able to be served, and I go to the court date, will the eviction process still be started?

Will the Sheriff post the notice if he makes multiple attempts with no success or do I have to go back and file a different way?

Do I have to make repairs to the unit (if something breaks, or the toilet needs repair,etc.) if she is not paying and the eviction has been started?

I know it could take months for the eviction to finally happen but am trying to do this the correct way and the most effiecient way. The Clerks at the County building say they cannot give advice as to how to handle individual situations.

Thanks!

Alaska landlord

Keep in constant contact with your server. Every time an attempt is made to serve and the tenant is not present it will cost you. The server will make every attempt to stalk and serve the deadbeat.
Unfortunately, you are still responsible for repairs. But, there is nothing wrong with non-speedy repairs.