• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Joint tenancy with mom, but i'm paying off mortgage. Can I ask for help?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

munster202

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I have been paying off the family house for the last 4 years. The deed has my name and my mother's name. The mortgage only has my name. I have 2 sisters and a mother living in the house, I do not live there. I would like to get help paying off the mortgage from my family who is living there.

Can I legally ask my mother to pay for half of the mortgage since her name is on the deed?
Can I legally ask my sisters to pay rent? How can we decide who lives in the house?
Is there any way I can get full custody of the house. My mom is trying to convince me to take my name off the deed, and I'm afraid that she may be getting scammed and the money will go to the scam artist.

This has been going on for a while, and has recently escalated because my family is threatening to not go to my wedding if I don't take my name off of the deed. I will not comply, and am wondering what my legal options are. I no longer care if they go to the wedding, but want to make sure they stop taking advantage of me.

Thanks for your responses in advance!

FlyingRon

You can certainly ask mom, but she is under no obligation to give you any help.
You can ask your sisters to pay rent, but if mom allows them to live there rent-free, you can't do much about it.
You can ask your mother to deed the property to you, but she would probably be foolish to do that. You can't make her.