• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Keeping Security Deposit, Plus $900

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

SkyMaster

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Colorado

I lived in the apartment from August to June. In September, since I was a grad student, he hired me to help around the building; like to shovel snow or help with the computer, or whenever the maintenance tech needed extra help or did not want to come down on a weekend.

In March the landlord complained that I had dirty dishes in the sink and that the smell of my cooking was filling the hallway. In April the landlord gave me the Three Days to Comply or Evict Notice. So I had the apartment professionally cleaned. The superintendent did surprise inspections from time to time after that.

Now back in November the landlord sent all the tenants a notice that he was sealing the windows closed. Then a couple weeks later, he sent everyone a notice that the hallway was filling with the smell of everyone's cooking, and that he was going to have to flush the air in the hallways. Also, the apartment building was originally built as a hotel. So it was not built for kitchens. And the hallways are heated and cooled with air that is pushed from the apartments.

I have tried to get those notices. I have asked neighbors, I even asked the landlord and superintendent. The landlord wrote me a note that he would not give them to me, and that "if I want to get legal I am on my own."