• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Non-compete question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Vincentgrimes

Minnesota

I’ve recently just left a large 3rd party logistics company where I worked as a acct executive/broker, and now getting hired onto another logistics company as a fleet supervisor. Previous role and new role aren’t the same, but same industry being both are logistics. Just got informed via email from previous employer that I had a non compete in place. They do not know where or what company I’m moving to.

Minnesota just passed into law banning non-competes as of July 21st of this year, but I signed my non compete a year ago. From what I’m finding in my research, that law only protects new employees starting on that date or after and not before. Am I doomed to make a living now in the industry for the 1year cool off period even if my roles are different within?

Im supposed start in two weeks, now I’m stressed! Any feed back would be very much appreciated!

quincy

Minnesota

I’ve recently just left a large 3rd party logistics company where I worked as a acct executive/broker, and now getting hired onto another logistics company as a fleet supervisor. Previous role and new role aren’t the same, but same industry being both are logistics. Just got informed via email from previous employer that I had a non compete in place. They do not know where or what company I’m moving to.