• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Owed money from completed work as private contractor

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

carla3

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a private contractor working for an owner of a financial services business and I completed work for several of his clients. My verbal agreement with the owner of the business was to be paid a percentage of billing for those clients. The owner of the business decided to end the business relationship.
Question 1: How long does the law say he has to pay me for the work I completed and do I have to wait for him to bill the clients (which may take him months) and be paid by them?

The owner also decided to "write off" some of the clients' bills because they were partners of his in another venture (and I know he received compensation on the side).
Question 2: Since I did all of the work for those clients, as directed by the owner, what does the law say the fair pay should be for me even though the business technically shows no income from them?

I have already made the demand for payment and told him that I thought the customary time for timely payment to another firm is 30 days (which now has passed). Any help would be very much appreciated.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Since you are an IC and not an employee, this is not a matter addressed by law but by your contract. If you are not paid within a reasonable time (the law does not state what is a reasonable time) your recourse is small claims court.

carla3