• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Payments from freelance work

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

5times_a_mom

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NV

I have a child support hearing coming up in a few weeks. I had fallen behind by about $4000 on my child support due to a typo in the divorce decree that I had not caught in time to get changed.

I have been making my payments in full every month since the last hearing including payment toward arrearages, but I do not have a regular job. I work as a freelance writer to make the payments.

Will the fact that I don't have a "real" job hurt me as long as I am making my payments as ordered by the court?

Also, if it does hurt me not to have a "real" job, how would I go about getting them to return my driver's license so that I can get a real job, because there are not any bus lines close by?

CSO286

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NV

I have a child support hearing coming up in a few weeks. I had fallen behind by about $4000 on my child support due to a typo in the divorce decree that I had not caught in time to get changed.

I have been making my payments in full every month since the last hearing including payment toward arrearages, but I do not have a regular job. I work as a freelance writer to make the payments.

Will the fact that I don't have a "real" job hurt me as long as I am making my payments as ordered by the court?

Also, if it does hurt me not to have a "real" job, how would I go about getting them to return my driver's license so that I can get a real job, because there are not any bus lines close by?