• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Running Red Light

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Tallrat

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Ohio

This morning I was going to work and ground was snow covered. I was going about 35 to 38 mph in a 45. As I came to light it turned yellow. I applied brakes and started sliding some. I knew I would end up in middle of intersection before completing stop so I went through. I would say I was about 1/2 way into intersection when light was red.

Now I know when you get down to the facts I am in the wrong but most officers might take that the roads were bad and cut some slack and driving well under posted speed. I have been driving for 34 years and have never had an accident or ticket before.

So my question would be, If I plead no contest and explain this to mayors court would there be a possibility of a lesser charge or should I just mail the fine in? Actually the cost doesn't bother me much but the points do although my insurance guy said not to worry about it.

Thanks for any info and thoughts.

The Occultist

It's possible you can try to use the Law of Necessity defense, but end up just changing the charges to reflect your inability to control your vehicle.

You should likely find an attorney. A local attorney knows best what the courts want to hear, and as such present the highest potential for yielding the most favorable results. Many attorneys will offer free/cheap consultations, so take advantage of this and sit down with a couple to see what insight they may have to offer.

I_Got_Banned

I would say I was about 1/2 way into intersection when light was red.
I know I'm being anal here but bare with me.