• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Self-employment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lawkev

What is the name of your state? New York

I need infomation on paying taxes as a self-employed individual. Currently, I am an employee but I would like to return to my old job as a taxi driver. I would be self-employed and I need to know how to figure my adjusted gross income. Basically, as a taxi driver I will only have gas and lease expenses. The rest of the income is my profit. I was told to use form 1040 es to determine if I have to make estimated payments. I would like to make quarterly or even monthly payments even if I'm not required to do so. When determining how much I will make in 08 would I include my expeses in my adjusted gross income? How do I use form 1040 es? I have been an employee so far this year. How would that work out at tax time?

Thank you

LdiJ

What is the name of your state? New York

I need infomation on paying taxes as a self-employed individual. Currently, I am an employee but I would like to return to my old job as a taxi driver. I would be self-employed and I need to know how to figure my adjusted gross income. Basically, as a taxi driver I will only have gas and lease expenses. The rest of the income is my profit. I was told to use form 1040 es to determine if I have to make estimated payments. I would like to make quarterly or even monthly payments even if I'm not required to do so. When determining how much I will make in 08 would I include my expeses in my adjusted gross income? How do I use form 1040 es? I have been an employee so far this year. How would that work out at tax time?

Thank you