• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

They've got the wrong person and are calling my clients!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kimberlywrites

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TX
I'm a freelance journalist with some big clients. Twice today, much to my great embarrassment, a collection agency has called one of the major newspapers I write for, asking for me. I received these messages and called them back - indeed, they have someone by the same name, but different address and different SSN. They apologized. Then it happened again - tonight, later, calling one of my editor's home phones! Obviously I better pull my credit reports and see what's going on, but is there anyway to get these people to stop calling my clients/editors????

justalayman

If it is about a bill that is not yours; no, there is nothing you can do about a case of mistaken identity.

If you have a bill in colllections; yes, you can pay your bill

kimberlywrites

If it is about a bill that is not yours; no, there is nothing you can do about a case of mistaken identity.

If you have a bill in colllections; yes, you can pay your bill
I don't have anything in collection, never have. I work hard to pay my bills and obligations. I have an excellent credit rating but now I'm concerned this case of mistaken identity is going to screw it up on my behalf.

justalayman

If you haven't recently done so, you should review your credit report at at least one of the major credit reporting agencies. If all is well, I would continue to monitor it regularly.

kimberlywrites