• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Trademark reexamination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

nickjames

What is the name of your state?

I am an attorney involved in a patent and trademark infringement that I filed (I do general practice so I don't have enough familiarity with trademark law). The Defendant just filed a patent reexamination at the onset of the litigation. Is there a similar procedure for a trademark reexamination? I could not find one in the statute. Thanks.

quincy

Nickjames, are you in the U.S. and are you really an attorney?

Divgradcurl will post shortly to give you the correct answer to your question, if what follows is not correct:

I believe that if you go to the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office's website, www.uspto.gov, and check out Examination of Application and Action by Applicants in the U.S. Trademark Law Rules of Practice and Federal Statutes, you can click on Section 2.63 Reexamination of Trademark, which explains reexamination of a trademark.

I really have got to believe that this is not what you were searching for, because it was pretty easy for a non-attorney that is not involved in a patent and trademark infringement suit to find. If it is not at all what you were looking for, like I said, wait for divgradcurl to post.

(I noticed that in 2005 you posted to this forum saying you were an IP attorney.....hmmmmmm.)

Last edited:

nickjames