• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Vacant land in Texas

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

worthspending

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Indiana / Texas

I live in the state of Indiana. Six years ago, I purchased 20 acres of land in Texas from a seller on ebay. I received a Warranty Deed and I have been paying the property taxes for the last six years. I have received several offers to buy the property, however, it turns out that I do not have a clear title on the property. It looks like I technically own 1/3 of the property with the remaining 2/3 belonging to five brothers/sisters of the family that originally owned the property. There hasn't been any title work done in over 60 years and the history seems to be fuzzy.

After many hours of phone calls with several different companies interested in my land I have found out that the real estate agent's name has red flags all over it. Basically, I am stuck with this property that I pay taxes on and do not technically own.

Today, I have an offer to buy the 1/3 of land that I own. My current thinking is I would like to sell the 1/3 of the property and somehow get rid of the remaining 2/3 of land as I don't want to pay taxes on land that I technically do not own. Can I simply give my rights to the property to the state of Texas or some other remedy?

What would be my best course of action?

nextwife

Please: