• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What should Child Support be spent on.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TX

Each month I send my ex wife $650 in child support. I have been doing so since July 2008. The child that I send the support for told my parents that she needs new clothes for school (starts on Aug 24). My parents asked her about the child support that I send. The child stated that her mother spends the child support for rent and groceries. Her mother has a job, so my question is, "Are groceries and rent what the child support is supposed to be spent on?" I was under the assumption that the child support was to be used for things the child needs (i.e clothes, items for school, etc). Also, is there a way (other than asking my ex) to get receipts for items the child support is being spent on?

nope. The CP can spend the child support on whatever he/she wants to. As long as the kids are fed, housed and clothed, you have no right to ask what it is being spent on or for an accounting of such.

Surely I didn't read that your parents discussed child support with the child? That can't be true, because that would be truly craptastic grandparenting.

You should be FURIOUS with your parents for talking to your child about an adult issue like that. That was plain STUPID.

xylene

The poster sounds naive, and is.

BUT

It is also true that parents spend child support on themselves and neglect the child.

Poster - is your child being neglected?

CourtClerk