• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Vacation Time Changes

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cindyc

What is the name of your state? New York State

I have been working in my current job for 6 years.
I was given the year 2000 Handbook and was told that the benefits I receive in that handbook is what I should be following (fringe benefits)
I work a four day work week in which I work 40 hours in 4 days (10 hour days)
In the 2000 year Handbook it stated that an employee working for more than five years would receive 27 days Vacation/Sick Time
Over the years the handbook has been amended. The way the company administer time has changed. Instead of administering it in days they have changed it to hours.

My question now is the company is now trying to modify the amount of time I receive.
Up to last year I was still receiving all my days/hours but the company is stating that because I work 4 day weeks I am not entitled to that time and can only receive 200 hours which is equivalent to 20 days.
It was to my understanding that a company can only amend how they administer a benefit but if I was hired with those fringe benefits they cannot take them away from me.

Please let me know if what they are doing is legal. I believe there is a specific law about this.

moburkes

Your alternative is to look for a new job.
Right. They can change the rules at any time. There is no law that states that they are required to offer you ANY benefits.
You are arguing over 16 hours?

20 days x 10 hours = 200 hours
27 days x 8 hours = 216 hours

You WANT
27 days x 10 hours, which is WAY unfair.

cindyc

I don't know if you are understanding me.