• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Forced Lunch?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrstimulation

What is the name of your state? California

DESCRIPTION
Good day. I am a consultant that works for a midsizied consulting firm in CA. I am currently stationed at a large entertainment company (the firms client in CA). My manager at the entertainment firm has suddenly pointed out that my timesheet does not contain any time spent for lunch. I eat my desk, etc. was my response. This did not seem acceptable and the manager is now trying to see if this is indeed legal. I have no idea why this is an issue as I, like many other consultants, have been doing this for a significant period of time (years).

Most of the consultants here do the same thing and tend to work 8 hours days w/out lunch as opposed to 9 hours days with lunch (8 work hrs minus 1hr lunch).

QUESTIONS
- Can the client legally mandate that I work 9 hour days and take a 1 hour lunch?
- Can I be forced to take a break of any kind? If so, how long must I be on break?

Technically, I do not work for the client. I work for the consulting firm, so I don't know how the laws apply to me. I read something about a 30 minute break being mandatory and something else about 2 paid 10 minute breaks... I'm not sure if those apply to consultants. If I'm requested (forced) to work a 9 hour day, I wonder if I can take the "mandatory" 30 minutes and bill for the remaining 30 minutes.

BANTER
At the end of the day, I firmly believe in spending as little time as I can in the office as long as there is no work to be done. If I am going to be "forced" to work longer hours, I should be compensated.