• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Domestic Partnership - health insurance

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

karriwhel

What is the name of your state? Texas

Hi I have found myself with an issue. My boyfriend & I have been living together for 8 years, with no intent to ever get married (seems things work out without that piece of paper somehow :) until now of course. So I have been working at the same place for 8 years & have had him on my insurance for that same amount of time classified as domestic partnership. I have since left that job about 3 wks ago & have found my new company will not cover him under my insurance since we are not same-sex partners. They have however said that if I choose to call him my husband for now on that they will cover him under spouse, but then if we ever needed to drop him from coverage I would have to provide them legal documentation of the divorce. I take full responsiblity for fault because I hadn't realized that individual companies could make up their own policies regarding this & I had just assumed since both companies headquarters were out of California & they both used the exact same insurance plan that I would have no issues. My question is, is there any law in Texas or anything that sets precedents that would say that these people should cover opposite-sex domestic partnerships? I feel penalized now & had I known about this I would not have choose to quite my last job until all medical issues w/ my partner had been resolved. YIKES what to do? :mad:

Thanks in advance!

Silverplum