• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

child out of wedlock - name change

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lilgirlali

What is the name of your state? Illinois
I have looked and looked for the answer to this and finally I thought I had found a place to find the answer however who ever posted the question must have made some one mad because they wont answer her. now here is my question... I am new to this, I had my child out of wedlock in north carolina... my childs father lives in Iowa my child support is set in Iowa, and I made the BIG mistake of giving my child his last name, I now want to change it because I am engaged and we all 3 have different names :eek: and it is hard for my child in school having to explain why all 3 of us have different names:(. My childs father hasnt seen or talked to her in almost 4 years and also only pays child support sporratically. What my question is ... is do I have to have his permission to change the last name ... I have found a few different answers to this question and was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction... and if so could some one tell me how to go about doing it also, like where I would get the forms to fill out and about how much it might cost me. Thank You in advance for any help you guys may be able to give me.

Ali

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
do I have to have his permission to change the last name
Generally, yes.
And, you shouldn't go changing the child's last name on every little whim that comes along. It's not all that uncommon for kids to have a different last name from their mother.

moburkes

What is the name of your state? Illinois