• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Meal breaks.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jtrhoades

I live in Ohio, I work as a customer service rep for a large corporation that rents movies and video games etc.

My employer recently implemeted a policy that requires anyone who works a 6+ hour shift to take a 30 minutes un-paid meal break.

My question is, can they force me to take an unpaid break when I don't want to?
I don't get enough hours as it is and losing another 2-3 a week it putting me into an even tighter budget than before.

From what I've been able to find there isn't a state or federal law requiring them to even offer me a meal break much less force one on me.

justalayman

I live in Ohio, I work as a customer service rep for a large corporation that rents movies and video games etc.

My employer recently implemeted a policy that requires anyone who works a 6+ hour shift to take a 30 minutes un-paid meal break.

My question is, can they force me to take an unpaid break when I don't want to?
I don't get enough hours as it is and losing another 2-3 a week it putting me into an even tighter budget than before.

From what I've been able to find there isn't a state or federal law requiring them to even offer me a meal break much less force one on me.
You are right. They do not have to offer you a break but they can require you to take a break.

You can have the option of having this 1/2 hour break when they require it or I am sure they would be more than willing to offer you a lifetime break.

your choice.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Yes, they can force you to take an unpaid break if you do not want to, and they can fire you if you refuse.