• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Overtime Exemption and other questions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Sylar

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I am a computer programmer and as far as I've ever understood, I am exempt from any overtime pay... seemingly reinforced by the details listed at U.S. Department of Labor - Employment Standards Administration (ESA) - Wage and Hour Division (WHD) - Fact Sheet

The problem is, my boss (and the company owner) is really starting to take advantage of the situation. I have been "ordered" to work nights and weekends until project x gets done. Project x is behind only because the boss with no technical incite or experience has way undercut the time line needed to reasonably get work done (E.G. Demanding a 6 month project in two weeks).

While this may be reasonable in some contexts, he is now doing this with ALL projects and ALL employees now. He thinks there is nothing we can do, which very well may be the case. I speculate that he is hoping that we quit so he can bring in some ultra-cheap over seas employees, but that is a different matter entirely.

Obviously, his demands are impossible to meet. The stress alone has worn at my health pretty significantly over the past few months. I had my salary reduced by $10k/year days after my daughter was born. I have a stomach ulcer and hemoroids at the age of 29. I've lost 40lbs in the past 4 months. I am perpetually sick because I don't even get the weekends off to rest.

So I have a few questions... Even though I am "exempt" from overtime pay, is there recourse for compensation where the demanded overtime is grossly abused?