• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Selling Reconstructed Hockey Jerseys - Is this legal?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

TMLgirl

again, thanks for all the information. I will talk to some lawyers I know (I'm in Canada). And then go from there, I might just display them and offer the service of altering peoples for them or something (I am not a dress maker, I'm a PhD student and I just do this for fun), then maybe have a sample sale... :p I think the NHL has bigger fish to fry, like all the exact replica fake jerseys that actually get sold at sports stores!

thanks everyone for replying....

TMLgirl

Just to update: From talking to some people involved in the field, and getting some pro-legal advice, it would seem that I am technically covered by the first sales doctrine. And that people who do similar things to mine have been asked to remove listings by major companies from time to time as a general rule before getting a cease and desist, and if you tell the company you understand your rights under the first sales doctrine they tend to back off.

You Are Guilty

You may very well be, but the point I was trying to make earlier was that First Sale is a defense to a law suit, it does not stop someone from suing you. So even though you have have a airtight defense here, you still have to deal with a potential federal lawsuit, which, even as a lawyer, are generally not fun, so I imagine that for a layperson, they must really suck.

In any event, until something actually happens, this is all hypothetical, so you may get lucky after all. Good luck either way.

quincy