• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

CA Unemployment Benefit Question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sandyclaus

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

I recently filed an unemployment claim because my company laid me off in January of this year. When I received the UI award letter with my Quarterly Earnings Statement that tells me how much I earned in wages for each 3-month period in the qualifying period, I saw that it did NOT include my wages received for when I worked as an U.S. Census Bureau employee (Federal Government agency) for a short period of time last year. As a result, my weekly benefit amount was far less than I expected.

Is there a reason these wages do not show on the Earnings Statement provided by the CA EDD (unemployment office)? Is it that they didn't have access to the government payroll records, or would those records have been delayed? How would working for the Federal Government during the qualifying period have affected my unemployment benefits?

Thank you in advance for your responses.

pattytx

Did you list the federal government as one of your employers on your claim? To my knowledge, states don't automatically get information on wages from other states or the federal government; they have to request wage information from them. Did you get a W-2?

commentator