• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

emailed information-can this be used in print

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CT

I have been researching family history for many years. I have shared information with one person (including photos) who was also researching the same family name. I have now learned that she is using this information I have shared with her for the purpose of publishing a book for profit on the family name. I am kind of furious. Can she use this information without my consent in her published book?

divgradcurl

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CT

I have been researching family history for many years. I have shared information with one person (including photos) who was also researching the same family name. I have now learned that she is using this information I have shared with her for the purpose of publishing a book for profit on the family name. I am kind of furious. Can she use this information without my consent in her published book?
Facts are facts -- you can't stop someone from using facts, even if you were the one that took the time to dig them up. Photos are a different story -- if the photos are still protected by copyright, then the person would need permission from the copyright owner to reproduce the photos.

Yet...

Once a person puts their info into written form as I assume email would be, does it not become theirs for assumed copyright? Some of this info is not found in public record but was from family interviews.

divgradcurl