• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Sub-Contractor Bad-Mouths Me to Client

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

threepeas

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Minnesota

I brought a sub-contractor onto a project (I'm an interior designer) to complete a portion of a job. After he begun to work in the client's home, I soon received an e-mail from the client releasing me from our contratual agreement, that they would no longer require my services.

Months later I find out from a reputable source that the sub-contractor had bad-mouthed me to the client, telling them I was going to mark-up his invoice and bill them the increased amount, etc., which is what caused the client to no longer use my services.

Without anything from the client directly, only a source that would be hearsay, do I have any type of a case to take this guy to small claims for defamation of character and/or slander? If I were to obtain a statement from the client, would I then? What amount would be reasonable?

Thank you.

justalayman

Months later I find out from a reputable source that the sub-contractor had bad-mouthed me to the client, telling them I was going to mark-up his invoice and bill them the increased amount, etc., which is what caused the client to no longer use my services.

Without anything from the client directly, only a source that would be hearsay, do I have any type of a case to take this guy to small claims for defamation of character and/or slander? If I were to obtain a statement from the client, would I then? What amount would be reasonable?